The Return of Nemo?

2 Apr

Or, apparently  more like the return of Dory. I’m sure I’m not breaking news of this to anyone, as the news has been out all day. But Pixar has confirmed that there will be a sequel to Finding Nemo, and will be entitled Finding Dory.

If only I could get college credit for being able to speak whale.

If only I could get college credit for being able to speak whale.

I’m actually a HUGE Pixar fan. It’s my favorite animation studio, ever. (I’m sorry Walt Disney Animation Studios. But I’ve been constantly impressed by Pixar save a few exceptions. But your portfolio has some masterpieces, some bombs, and some ‘mehs’.  I know that’s not entirely fair, as Disney has been around a whole of a heck longer, but that’s just my opinion. I love me my Pixar)

So what are my feelings on the matter?

tumblr_inline_mg5p5emghc1qk4yfc

Dory please, your face!

I must be OUTRAGED right? How dare they make another Nemo film, while the previous one was fine on its own? Or I must be so EXCITED. So many opportunities! Pixar is a great studio, they must know what they’re doing.

That seemed to be the two options for everyone else. Either you’re upset because it’s going to be a bastardization, or you’re excited because it’ll be another classic.

My reaction? “Meh”. That’s right. Meh.

Come on, this film is coming out in 2015- at least. All we have is a logo, a one sentence description, and Ellen DeGeneres fangirling over the matter.

Usually it's me fangirling over Ellen. Seriously, she's hilarious.

Usually it’s me fangirling over Ellen. Seriously, she’s hilarious.

That’s definitely not enough for me to get invested into this film- for or against- yet. Just on all the internet spheres that I haunt around, people are generally freaking out about how bad it’ll be. And we have literally nothing to say that it’ll be bad- or good for that matter.

This is all we have.

This is all we have.

Ask me in a couple years when we see trailers and posters what I feel about it. I’m certain that I’ll have some strong opinions. I am curious about Nemo’s fate. That little shit should be grounded for all that trouble he caused.

One thing I will point out is that the setting for this film will apparently be the California coastline. I think that is an interesting contrast to the Great Barrier Reef. But how the hell do they get there?

—-

Oh and PS. My first article should be ready by tomorrow. Jiminy Cricket, The Three Caballeros, The Crows from Dumbo, The Mad Hatter. What have they all in common? I’ll tell you about that tomorrow.

16 Responses to “The Return of Nemo?”

  1. The Animation Commendation April 3, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    I feel that Pixar’s quality has been diminishing lately and that they’re making films that seem more like direct-to-DVD fare rather than theatrical releases (Cars 2, Monsters University, and now this)! I’m not really excited about this, but maybe future trailers and information will change my mind on this!

    GASP! You love Pixar more than Walt Disney Animation Studios?! How dare thee?!

  2. Kenzie (manicmation) April 3, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    Yeah, I agree about the diminishing quality. (the “few exceptions” I noted in my article is Cars 2 and to a lesser extent Brave, which was still a good movie, but less ambitious and left something to be desired).

    I’m actually very excited for Monsters,University. The thing about Pixar is they definitively approved the Toy Story series, those sequels got progressively better (If that’s even possible). But then there was Cars 2, made for the sole purpose to make money. So Monsters Inc and Finding Dory, who knows what those will be like!

    I know, I know! Shame on me! XD If it wasn’t for Pixar, I wouldn’t have a blog probably. Pixar is what skyrocketed me to the online animation fandom, via Pixar Planet and such. I have a close connection to those films. (But it’s worth noting my favorite animated films of all time are Pinocchio and Dumbo, so it evens out)

  3. Jayden-G April 5, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    I still cannot believe that Finding Nemo has a sequel in development. I am not excited for Monsters University as it seems gimmicky, and their quality has gone down a bit. WDAS is catching up after the dreadful 2000s

    • Kenzie (manicmation) April 5, 2013 at 3:35 am #

      I see where you’re coming from. Monsters University has me nervous, because Cars 2 was just so blah and Brave was unambitious. But I like the University setting for MU, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

      And yeah, it’s too early to tell but Disney if Disney keeps stuff up they could be in a Neo-Renaissance.

  4. Craig April 5, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

    After Cars 2, I shuddered at the thought of any sequel ever again from Pixar. However, I really feel better knowing that Andrew Stanton, who hit it out of the park with the first one, is back directing. I’ll withhold until I know more as well, but I can say I’m curious on the positive side, and not filled with dread like I was (deservedly so) about Cars 2.

    • Kenzie (manicmation) April 5, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      I didn’t really make this clear in my article, but one reason I don’t have too strong with an opinion is because of Cars 2. Pixar showed us they can make sequels that improve upon their previous films (See Toy Story) but also make horrible sequels (See Cars 2. I’m certain that film exists solely to sell more merchandise). So I’m not sure what to expect. I am though a big fan of Stanton’s, so I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt! (I hope this film does well though, because I feel sorry for the John Carter incident)

  5. Merida DunBroch April 5, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    I think that sequels have kind of picked up a negative connotation over the years–ESPECIALLY with all the Disney Sequels that were just awful, as well as the “Pixar Decay” everyone mentioned (I LOVED Brave, but I will not hesitate to admit that I was biased by the pretty merchandise before it came out and I’m a total sucker for parent/child relationship stories ^^”), and studios’ tendency to push franchises too far.

    Maybe it’s that Pixar’s out of ideas? I really doubt it, though!

    It’s good to see that you’re staying optimistic! Too often people will dismiss something because “it’s a sequel” or it “looks unoriginal”, it’s good to see you’re keeping your mind open!!

    Plus, Ok, we’ve had like 4 Pixar sequels? Only 2 different franchises have been repeated! That’s pretty good, especially considering all the different stories Pixar’s come up with! And the Toy Stories did great! I don’t know if this is legitimate information, but I heard from a friend that Cars 2 was only developed as a money-maker before the release of Brave, simply because of the popularity of the merchandise and first movie?

    I don’t know, I agree with you, I think it’ll be good! Pixar is capable of great things, and just because it’s a movie continuing off of another story doesn’t make it any less creative! Sometimes, prequels or sequels are even better than the original!

    • Kenzie (manicmation) April 5, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

      I too had Brave Bias! I’m a big fan of Celtic and Gaelic cultures. So during the movie I was totally enjoying the faerie circles and the will o the wisps and the Celtic artwork. I enjoyed it, but definitely not near some other Pixar films.

      I kind of agree with your friend about Cars 2. I think a major deciding factor into that film was the fact that Cars is one of Disney’s most successful franchises.

      And I have to agree with you on the last paragraph! I generally have high trust in Pixar, and sequels don’t mean lack of creativity (It’s a possibility, not a guarantee). The Toy Story sequels were better to me, and The Three Caballeros was better than Saludos Amigos, and Shrek 2 is better than Shrek.

  6. Thalita Carvalho April 8, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    This is going to be so awesome! I mean, it’s Pixar plus Disney plus Dory. What could possibly go wrong?

    • Kenzie (manicmation) April 8, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! Yeah, hopefully it’ll be amazing. I see that you are Brazilian? Que Legal! If thinks work out, I’ll be majoring in History and minoring in Luso-Brazilian Studies once I move to University this fall.

      • Thalita Carvalho April 8, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

        Yes, I’m Brazilian! Do you speak Portuguese? It’s so cool that you want to do your minor in Luso-Brazilian Studies! If you need any help with anything about your studies, please, be free to ask me!

      • Kenzie (manicmation) April 8, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

        All the Portuguese I know is from listening to Brazilian music and reading Quadrinhos. So, not much! But I start officially learning next fall, hopefully! And Obrigada, I’ll be sure to keep in touch!

      • Thalita Carvalho April 9, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

        Hey Mackenzie! I have an idea I’ve working on and I’d like your opinion since you are interested in Portuguese and Brazilian culture. Is there an e-mail address that I can send you a message?

      • Kenzie (manicmation) April 9, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

        Ooooo, I’m interested already! My e-mail is mackenziemackling@yahoo.com

      • Thalita Carvalho April 9, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

        just sent you the e-mail! 😀

      • Kenzie (manicmation) April 9, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

        Brigadinha!

Leave a comment