Coming Soon!

27 Mar

Hello everyone! So I’ve done my fair share on rambling on several spheres of the internet. I feel like I’ve finally reached the point where I can manage a blog. I don’t expect this to be a big thing, but I’d like to share my thoughts with friends and other animation enthusiasts.

Right now I have a few posts in the works.

  • My top 10 Disney films. This started as an article for the Disney club page on fanpop. I also received interest on my opinions from some people on Pixar Planet. It’s 60% done.
  • One of my main interests in animation is its use as Propaganda. I’m going to examine Disney’s Chicken Little. (No, not the insipid feature film, but the brilliantly done 1943 short). It’s Disney’s only short to directly quote Hitler’s Mein Kampf, and I’ll explain the purpose for that.
  • I’m currently preparing a presentation for my Mythology class on animation as propaganda. I’m going to condense the 30 minute presentation to 10 facts on how the US government and Walt Disney teamed together to convince Latin American governments to not become Nazis- using animation.
  • Latin Americans in Animation. This article is a response to criticism against Disney for the “Sofia the First, Latina?” controversy. I’m going to look at films like Emperors New Groove and Road to El Dorado that are directly influenced by Latin America, and then films with Hispanic characters in them (i.e. Lady and the Tramp, Atlantis, Three Caballeros, Oliver and Company)
  • Rumors about a Disneyland in India or Brazil? Good ideas or Bad ideas?
  • Why I can’t stand Anastasia
  • The Crows in Dumbo
  • And something about Ward Kimball. Best. Disney. Animator. Ever.
  • A user on dA requested that I upload two Three Caballeros comics from the 1940s that I own.

That’s all I have for now! In the mean time I posted my short and sweet review of The Croods (Right here).

Obrigada!

-Mackenzie

tumblr_mit9so1qER1rte0wno1_500

3 Responses to “Coming Soon!”

  1. The Animation Commendation March 28, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Sooo..looking forward to your upcoming posts, especially your top 10 Disney films! Will you limit them only to animated Disney films or only the animated Disney Canon or also include live-action films?

    • Kenzie (manicmation) March 28, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      Thank you! I’m jut focusing on the canon animated features. I’m omitting Pixar films, it’s already difficult enough with the canon ones!

      • The Animation Commendation March 29, 2013 at 7:42 am #

        Cool, looking forward to it! I also make a “Top 13” list of my favorite Disney Canon films as well! You can check it out in the “Top 13” section!

Leave a Reply

